Print Page | Sign In | Join
Marcelino "Bubba" Huerta Award
Share |


Marcelino "Bubba" Huerta III was a local defense attorney who was respected throughout the Tampa Bay area for his professionalism, good heart, and friendly personality. His quiet commitment to pro bono service was not known to many but was appreciated and admired by those who knew him best.

In Bubba's memory, the Criminal Law Section created the Marcelino "Bubba" Huerta III Award for Professionalism and Pro Bono Service. This award is presented to an attorney who exhibits the professional practice, the dedication to pro bono service, and the diligent work in the pursuit of equal justice that made Bubba a remarkable lawyer. The recipient of the Bubba Huerta Award is selected by a committee consisting of local, state, and federal criminal practitioners.

Past recipients of this award include:

2009 James Felman
2010 Michael Maddux
2011 Eddie Suarez
2012 Joann Palchak
2013 David Weisbrod
2014 Ty Tyson
2015 Katherine E. Yanes
2016 Brian Albritton
2017 Rachel May Zysk
2018 Mark Rankin